NEENAH (WOLF) — Six technical teachers from across the state were recognized, including three from Northeast Wisconsin.

Wisconsin Business World and Plekus hosted the inaugural Manufacturing, Engineering and Technology (MET) Educator Awards in Neenah on Thursday.

The awards program recognizes middle and high school teachers in Wisconsin who have demonstrated a commitment to advancing manufacturing, engineering and technology principles in their classrooms to ensure the state’s future workforce is equipped with the skills and knowledge necessary to thrive in Wisconsin’s industries.

The winners are:

High school teachers

  • 1st Place – Roy Ward – Webster School District
  • 2nd Place – Scott Christie – Green Bay School District
  • 3rd Place – Melanie Shimek – Manitowoc School District

Secondary school teachers

  • 1st place – Craig Cegielski – Eleva Strum School District
  • 2nd place – Һeder Keefer – Slinger School District
  • 3rd Place – John Larson – Little Chute School District

Jon Larson, a manufacturing and engineering teacher in the Little Chute School District says it’s great to be recognized for doing something he loves.

“My goal is to always give students opportunities, and those opportunities come in many different ways; it’s opportunities to be involved in their curriculum, to experience business and industry partners, dual credit continuing education opportunities, opportunities to be in places like Plekus and our other manufacturing partners,” he said.

The winning teachers were awarded cash prizes.

By Editor

Leave a Reply