The 19th annual Cattaraugus County Sports Hall of Fame banquet was held in Gowanda, where the class of 2024 was inducted. The event celebrated the achievements of these individuals in their sports disciplines and recognized their contribution to the local sports community.

Among the inductees were Dan Waldron of Franklinville, Jerry Capozzi of Gowanda, Kathy Feldman of West Valley, John Burrell of Ellicottville and Matt Milne of Portville. Pioneer’s Chris Edwards, Salamanca’s Chad Bartoszek, Bishop Walsh’s Dan Metzler, Hinsdale’s Gary Cuddy and Olean’s Mike Taylor were also inducted.

The ceremony was a special occasion for the recipients as well as their friends, family and supporters who gathered to pay their respects. It was an evening to remember filled with stories of triumph and dedication, highlighting the impact that sport can have on individuals and communities.

The Cattaraugus County Sports Hall of Fame continues to honor and preserve the region’s rich sports history by recognizing and celebrating the achievements of outstanding athletes and contributors. A photo of the inductees in attendance was taken during the event, with some seated and others standing in two rows.

By Samantha Johnson

As a dedicated content writer at, I immerse myself in the art of storytelling through words. With a keen eye for detail and a passion for crafting engaging narratives, I strive to captivate our audience with each piece I create. Whether I'm covering breaking news, delving into feature articles, or exploring thought-provoking editorials, my goal remains constant: to inform, entertain, and inspire through the power of writing. Join me on this journalistic journey as we navigate through the ever-evolving media landscape together.

Leave a Reply